General Information

Meeting Calendar and 2013 Submission Calendar

Please click the following link to other agendas, minutes, and meeting schedules:

Ashtabula County Sharepoint

The Planning Commission is an eleven member board comprised of the three County Commissioners and eight community members, chosen for their knowledge and expertise from various areas of the County.

  • Commissioners Peggy Carlo
  • Commissioner Daniel Claypool
  • Commissioner Joe Moroski
  • Martha Demshar
  • William Douglass
  • David Hartz
  • Gary Hunter
  • Sandy Kanicki 
  • Marty Kuula
  • Kathleen Roskos
  • Evelyn Schaeffer

The Commission has approval authority over plats for major subdivisions, replats of existing subdivisions, and makes recommendations for township rezonings and text amendments.

The Department of Planning is an office under the County Commissioners. The following is a break down:

Planning Division

  • Prepare cases for review and approval from the ACPC for preliminary plans and plats of major subdivisions and replats. .
  • Review and approve applications for minor subdivisions, commonly known as lot splits under five acres in area.
  • Assign address numbers to 25 of the 27 townships in the County (Ashtabula and Saybrook excluded).
  • House all census data for the County and answer census related questions.
  • Assist townships with review of rezoning requests and text amendments.
  • Answers various questions on land use and planning issues.
  • Prepares strategic and thematic master plans including land use, zoning, and transportation, etc, by geography or topic.
  • Reviews, writes, and revises County Subdivision Regulations.
  • Advises County Commissioners, Prosecutor, and other county departments and agencies regarding land use and zoning.